Meeting of the Student Government Elections Commission November 21, 2024 UF Law Commons

Agenda: https://sg.ufl.edu/events/election-commission-meeting-20/

Addie called the meeting to order at 12:06 PM.

Attendance:

- Elections Commission Chair: Addie Gerken
- Commissioner 1: Connor Pitisci Present
- Commissioner 2: Jackson Hacker Present
- Commissioner 3: Lily Kino Present
- Commissioner 4: Libby Putnam Present
- Commissioner 5: Addie Gerken Present
- Commissioner 6: Kenneth Butler Present
- Others:

Quorum has been established with 6 Commissioners present.

Election of Chair:

- Libby moves to open the floor for nominations for the position of Elections Commission Chair.
- Libby nominates Addie.
- Libby moves to close the floor for nominations for the position of Elections Commission Chair.
- In a vote of 6 to 0, Addie is elected Elections Commission Chair.

The meeting was adjourned.

Meeting of the Student Government Elections Commission January 23, 2025 BGH 229

Agenda: https://sg.ufl.edu/events/ec-meeting-1-23/

Addie called the meeting to order at 12:06pm.

Attendance:

- Elections Commission Chair/Commissioner 5: Addie Gerken Present
- Commissioner 1: Connor Pitisci Present
- Commissioner 2: Jackson Hacker Present
- Commissioner 3: Lily Kino Present
- Commissioner 4: Libby Putnam Present
- Commissioner 6: Kenneth Butler Absent
- Others: Connor Panish, Annika Singh, Tyler Sklar, Jackie Phillips (Advisor)

Quorum has been established with 5 Commissioners present.

Referendum Question:

- 1. Should we stop the gerrymandering of the Student Senate by replacing the current 37-seat single district model with a fairer multi-district model that was used from 1982-2022? (yes/no)
 - a. Presentation (2 mins each):
 - Connor Panish: no input from students regarding the election model change;
 want more student input; referendum questions have been asked about all sort of things including amendment procedures
 - ii. Annika Singh: most of the student body is unaware, election issues are currently inaccessible to students, diversity of questions have included adding fee to student's tuition
 - b. Amended version: Should the current 37-seat SDM be replaced with a MDM that was used from 1982-2022? (yes/no)
 - c. Vote: as is failed
 - i. Jackson: no
 - ii. Connor: no

iii. Libby: no

iv. Lily: no

d. Vote: amendment - failed

i. Jackson: no

ii. Connor: yes

iii. Libby: no

iv. Lily: yes

v. Addie: no

Addie adjourned the meeting at 12:33pm.

Meeting of the Student Government Elections Commission February 3, 2025 BGH 229

Agenda: https://sg.ufl.edu/events/ec-meeting-2-3-25/

Addie called the meeting to order at 12:07 PM.

Attendance:

- Elections Commission Chair/Commissioner 5: Addie Gerken present
- Commissioner 1: Connor Pitisci absent
- Commissioner 2: Jackson Hacker present
- Commissioner 3: Lily Kino present
- Commissioner 4: Libby Putnam present
- Commissioner 6: Kenneth Butler present
- Others:

Quorum has been established with 5 Commissioners present.

Public Comment: None

Polling Locations for Spring 2025 Election:

- Reitz Union
- Norman Library
- Cypress Hall
- Southwest Recreation Center
- Keys Complex
- Heavener Hall
- Law Library
- Health Science Center Library

Libby moves to open for discussion, Addie seconds.

Libby moves to vote on certifying polling locations. Jackson seconds.

The committee votes (4-0) to certify the SoE's recommended polling locations

• 4 votes to approve: Jackson Hacker, Lily Kino, Libby Putnam, Kenneth Butler

Addie Gerken adjourned the meeting at 12:09 PM.