STUDENT SENATE MINUTES October 15, 2024

Senate President Vijayaraghavan called the Senate meeting to order at 7:15 pm and announced the meeting may be filmed or audio recorded and may be available to the public. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. A land acknowledgment was given.

ROLL CALL:

Roll was called and quorum was established with a total of 74 senators present.

Not present for roll call:

- Bedine
- Bravo
- Bryan
- Cox
- Enriquez
- Fentress
- Hardin
- Hassan
- Hewitt
- Leavengood
- Levine
- Permane
- Lucas Rodriguez
- Sabadash
- Sakrani
- Stokes
- Von Holten
- Whittaker

PUBLIC COMMENT:

• There were 2 members of the public that gave public comment including Sarah Hoffer and Jonathan Stephens.

GOODBYE SPEECHES:

- Chairman Rodriguez delivers their goodbye speech.
- Senator McGuire delivers their goodbye speech.
- Senator Pelton delivers their goodbye speech.
- Senator Jubran delivers their goodbye speech.
- Senator Burton delivers their goodbye speech.
- Chairwoman Wentworth delivers their goodbye speech.

- Senator Levine delivers their goodbye speech.
- Chairwoman Kinggard delivers their goodbye speech.
- Senator Khan delivers their goodbye speech.
- Minority Party Leader Naidu delivers their goodbye speech.
- Senator Vargas delivers their goodbye speech.

JOHN MICHAEL STRATTON MEMORIAL AWARD:

- Majority Party Leader Seifer moves to open the floor for nominations for the John Michael Stratton award by unanimous consent. The motion passes.
- Deputy Minority Party Leader Banach moves to nominate Senator Pelton for the John Michael Stratton Memorial Award. Senator Pelton accepts.
- Majority Party Leader Seifer moves to nominate Senator McGuire for the John Michael Stratton Memorial Award. Senator McGuire accepts.
- Senator Chaudhary moves to nominate Minority Party Leader Naidu for the John Michael Stratton Memorial Award. Minority Party Leader Naidu accepts.
- Chairwoman Wentworth moves to close the floor for nominations for the John Michael Stratton award by unanimous consent. The motion passes.
- Pro Tempore Cox moves to make a special rule to suspend the VERIZON act until after the conclusion of the John Michael Stratton and Paul Clark Memorial awards by unanimous consent. The motion passes.
- In a vote of 48-13-7, Senator McGuire is approved as the recipient of the John Michael Stratton award.

PAUL CLARK MEMORIAL AWARD:

- Chairwoman Wentworth moves to open the floor for nominations for the Paul Clark Memorial award by unanimous consent.
- Deputy Minority Party Leader Banach moves to nominate Judiciary Chairman Rubaii for the Paul Clark Memorial award. Chairman Rubaii accepts.
- Senator Gonzalez moves to nominate Budget Chairman Rodriguez for the Paul Clark Memorial award. Chairman Rodriguez accepts.
- Chairman Rubaii moves to nominate R&E Chairwoman Kinggard for the Paul Clark Memorial award. Chairwoman Kinggard accepts.
- Chairman Rodriguez moves to nominate I&C Chairwoman Wentworth for the Paul Clark Memorial award. Chairwoman Wentworth accepts.
- Majority Party Leader Seifer moves to close the floor for nominations for the Paul Clark Memorial Award by unanimous consent. The motion passes.
- Majority Party Leader Seifer moves to suspend the rules to conduct the following vote as a standing vote rather than a roll call by unanimous consent. The motion passes.
- In a vote of 2-28-30-5, there is a revote.

• In a vote of 32-34, Chairwoman Kinggard is approved as the recipient of the Paul Clark Memorial award.

VERIFICATION OF FALL 2024 ELECTION RESULTS:

- ASOE Lieberperson presents the election results.
- Senate President Vijayaraghavan moves to verify the election results.
- Majority Party Leader Seifer moves to a 1 minute recess by unanimous consent. The motion passes.
- Senate President Vijayaraghavan calls the meeting back to order at 10:27pm.
- Majority Party Leader Seifers moves to suspend the rule for roll call by unanimous consent. The motion passes.
- Majority Party Leader Seifer moves to validate the election results by unanimous consent. The motion passes.

AMENDMENTS TO THE MINUTES:

• There were none.

AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA:

- Majority Party Leader Seifer moves to approve all of the bills under second reading by unanimous consent. Objected.
- Majority Party Leader Seifer moves to approve SSB 2024-1709 by unanimous consent.
 Objected.
- Majority Party Leader Seifer moves to approve SSB 2024-1684, SSB 2024-1686, and SSB 2024-1687 by unanimous consent. The motion passes.
- Chairwoman Kinggard moves to add the following approved absences to the agenda: Kishan Nayak for 9/24, Valentina Bernal for 9/29, Sophia Kolcun for 10/1, Jordan Levitt for 10/1, Andrew Sabadash for 10/1, Katherine McNamara for 10/1, Nicole Gigliotti for 10/1, Sophia Varon for 10/1, Keegan Dunnam for 10/1, and Krystal Felix for 10/1 by unanimous consent. The motion passes.
- Chairwoman Kinggard moves to add the following failed absences to the agenda: Rachel Krutchik for 9/24 and Fahim Islam for 10/1 by unanimous consent. The motion passes.
- Chairwoman Kinggard moves to create a special rule to hear all absences as a bloc and approve them by unanimous consent. The motion passes.
- Minority Party Leader Naidu moves to appeal the consideration of the R&E committee on the expulsion of Sarah Hoffer by unanimous consent. Objected.
- Minority Party Leader Naidu moves to appeal the consideration of the R&E committee on Sarah Hoffer. Seconded.
- There were 2 rounds of con-pro debate.
- In a rising vote, the motion to appeal the decision of the R&E committee fails.

• Majority Party Leader Seifer moves to adopt the agenda by unanimous consent. The motion passes.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT:

- Senator Yaciuk presents on Student Engagement.
- Senate President Vijayaraghavan gives out awards to senators on his business cards.
- Senate President Vijayaraghavan delivers their goodbye speech.

REPLACEMENT AND AGENDA COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:

• There were none

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

REPLACEMENT AND AGENDA:

- Pro Tempore Cox delivers a reflection on their time as Senate President Pro Tempore and gives a shoutout to the R&A committee.
- Pro Tempore Cox informs senators that new senators need to fill out an affiliation form.
- Open Permanent Senate Seats:
 - Graduate & Family Housing
 - Dentistry
 - Medicine
 - Veterinary Medicine
 - o Broward-Rawlings
 - o CALS
- Open Committee Seats:
 - o Budget
 - o I&C (2)

JUDICIARY:

• There was none.

BUDGET & APPROPRIATIONS:

• Chairman Rodriguez thanks all senators and the Budget committee for all their help and gives a shoutout to senate advisor Jackie Phillips.

RULES & ETHICS:

• Chairwoman Kinggard thanks all the senators for such a great term and congratulates the Rules & Ethics committee for their hard work.

INFORMATION & COMMUNICATIONS:

• Chairwoman Wentworth announces that the Vice-Chair will be Senator Krystal Felix and informs new senators that they need to attend a new senator orientation.

FIRST READING:

• There was none.

SECOND READING:

- Majority Party Leader Seifer moves to approve SSB 2024-1709 by unanimous consent.
 Objected.
- Chairman Rubaii moves to call previous question. Seconded.
- In a rising vote, the motion passes.
- In a rising vote, SSB 2024-1709 is approved.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- Senator Collins announces a new parade event for Homecoming.
- Chairwoman Wentworth announces that all senators will be taking a group photo at the end of the meeting.
- Minority Party Leader Naidu gives a shoutout to the senate secretaries.
- Senate President Vijayaraghavan thanks all senators for all their hard work one final time.

ADJOURNMENT:

- Chairman Rubaii clarifies the voter record.
- Senate President Vijayaraghavan adjourns the meeting at 11:33pm.