UF STUDENT SENATE- JUDICIARY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Date & Time: July 22nd, 2024, 11:00am

Student Government Room

Start Time (Call to Order): 11:02am End Time (Ajournement): 12:34 PM

COMMITTEE MEMBERS	PRESENT?	ABSENT?	
		EXCUSED?	UNEXCUSED?
CHAIR: Aaron Rubai	X		
Matthew Bravo	X		
Jaxen Ranson	X		
Daniel Weinberger	X		
Megan McGuire			
Joshua Yacuik	X		
Alexander Wierchs			
Arshan Falasiri	X		
Adriana Sela			
CLERK (IF APPLICABLE): Laura	X		
Jane Bryan			

ABSENCE EXCUSES

Senator Megan Mcguire- Personal Matters

SenatorAdriana Sela- Personal Matters

Senator Alexander Wierchs

OTHER SENATORS PRESENT:

Majority Party Leader Julia Seifer

Minority Party Leader Animika Naidu

Senator Antonia Hendricks

MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC PRESENT

Jonathan Stevens

Nathaniel Peloton

Raj Mia

Austin Birtton

Tyler Sklar

VOTES, MOTIONS & ACTIONS:

Meeting Called to order at 11:02 AM

Quorum established with 6 senators present.

Rubaii moves to a recess until called back by the chair, unanimous consent, passes.

Rubaii calls meeting back to order 11:11am

Quorum reestablished at 6 members present

Ishah Khan joined Room

Now in line for SSB 2024-1428

Yacuik moves to consider SSB 2024-1525

Rubaii lays committee to rest

Blake Cox joined room

5 min presentation by Rubaii

No Q andA

5 minutes of Debate

Bravo debates

Falasiri debates

Weinberger debates

Ranson debates

Rubaii calls for a recess untill called back by the chair at 11:55 AM

Rubaii calls meeting back to ordder 11:58am

Qurom established 6 senators

Final Privilage given by Rubaii

Rubaii moves to ammend SSB 2024-1525 by striking the list of zipcodes for each district by unanimous

consent

Yacuik submoves, passes

Rubaii moves to ammend SSB 2024-1525 by 322. 211

Falasiri submoves, passes

Rubaii moves to ammend SSB 2024-1525 322.22 from the comma after order all the way to

Yashik submoves, passes

Rubaii moves to ammend SSB 2024-1525 to strike (in districts and (BLANK) 322.21

Ashan submoves, passes

Rubaii moves to ammend SSB 2024-1525 to(add underneath the previosult stricken disctricts;)

Yashik submoves, passes

Rubaii moves to ammend SSB 2024-1525 to replace the word district with the word location 321.2

Jaxen submoves, passes

Rubaii moves to ammend SSB 2024-1525 to remake the same motion for (BLANK)

Falasari submoves, passes

Yashik moves to pass SSB 2024-1525 by unanimous conesent, passes

Yassic Now in line for SSB 2025 1513

Committy member Alexander Wierchs joined

5 Minute Presentation by Seifer and Rubaii

5 Minutes Q and A

Weinberger Questions

5 Minites of Debate

Yacuik Debates

Falasiri Debates

2 minutes of Final Privilage by Seifer

Bravo moves to pass by unanimous consent, passes

Now in line for SSB 2024-1514

No Presentation

5 Minitues of Q and A

Falasari questions

5 Minutes of Debate

Falasiri Debates

2 minutes of Final Privilage by Seifer

Falasiri moves to pass SSB 2024-1514 by unanimous consent, passes

Bravo Leaves

Weinberger Leaves

Yachic moves to consider SSB 2024-1520

No Presentation

No Q and A

5 Minuted of Debate

Rubaii Debates

No Final Privilage

Falisari moves to pass the bill by unanimous consent

Now in line for SSB 2024-1521

5 minutes of presentation by Seifer

5 minutes of Q and A

Falasari Questions

5 Minites of Debate

Wierchs Debates

Falasari Debates

2 Minites of Final Privilage given by Seifer

Falasari moves to ammend SSB 2024-1521 to strike the language "the seat has not been filled" in part 3 and part 4 by unanimous consent, passes

Falasari moves to ammend SSB 2024-1521 to strike the word "senate" in part one by unanimous consent, passes

Falasari moves to pass SSB 2024-1521 by unanimous consent, passes

Yashic moves to adjourn the meeting at 12:34 PM by unanimous consent, passes

Meeting is adjourned at 12:34 PM.