Judiciary Minutes 07/08/2024

Chairman Rubaii Calls Meeting to Order 8:16 AM 07/08/2024

Committee Members Present (8:17AM):

Daniel Weinberger Joshua Yacuik Adriana Sela Matthew Bravo Aaron Rubaii (Chair)

Committee Members Absent (8:17AM):

Megan McGuire Arshan Falasiri Alexander Wierchs Jaxen Ranson

Others Present (8:17AM):

Senator Monson (Clerk)

Senator Britton

Chairman Rubaii Calls Meeting Back to Order at 8:22 AM

Committee Members Present (8:22AM):

Daniel Weinberger Joshua Yacuik Adriana Sela Matthew Bravo Aaron Rubaii (Chair)

Committee Members Absent (8:22AM):

Megan McGuire Arshan Falasiri Alexander Wierchs Jaxen Ranson

Others Present (8:22AM):

Senator Hunter Monson (Clerk) Senator Austin Britton Deputy Minority Party Leader Isha Khan Senator Kayla Goldstein

Bravo moves to table SSB 2024-1427 by U/C, motion passes

Weinberger moves to pass SSB 2024-1426 by U/C, motion passes

Sela moves to table SSB 2024-1428 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to table SSB 2024-1429 by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii moves to amend SSB 2024-1430 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to pass SSB 2024-1430 by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii moves to consider SSB 2024-1491 by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii moves to amend SSB 2024-1491 by U/C, motion passes

Committee Members Present (8:50AM):

Daniel Weinberger Joshua Yacuik Adriana Sela Matthew Bravo Aaron Rubaii (Chair) Alexander Wierchs

Committee Members Absent (8:50AM):

Megan McGuire Arshan Falasiri Jaxen Ranson

Others Present (8:50AM):

Senator Hunter Monson (Clerk) Senator Austin Britton Deputy Minority Party Leader Isha Khan Senator Kayla Goldstein Yacuik moves to pass SSB 2024-1491 by U/C, motion passes

Wierchs moves to pass SSB 2024-1431 by U/C, motion passes

Wierchs moves to pass SSB 2024-1432 by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii moves to amend SSSB 2024-1433 by U/C, motion passes

Weinberger moves to amend SSSB 2024-1433 by U/C, motion passes

Wierchs moves to pass SSB 2024-1433 by U/C, motion passes

Weinberger moves to amend SSSB 2024-1434 stating "WHEREAS, the SG Print Lab is one of the only locations on campus that allows for free printing for all students; and," by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii moves to amend SSSB 2024-1434 changing "; and," to "; then" in the last whereas clause by U/C, motion passes

Wierchs moves to pass SSB 2024-1434 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to amend SSB 2024-1435 by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii moves to amend SSB 2024-1435 by U/C, motion passes

Wierchs moves to pass SSB 2024-1435 by U/C, motion passes

Committee Members Present (9:16AM):

Joshua Yacuik Adriana Sela Matthew Bravo Aaron Rubaii (Chair) Alexander Wierchs

Committee Members Absent (9:16AM):

Megan McGuire Arshan Falasiri Jaxen Ranson Daniel Weinberger

Others Present (9:16AM):

Senator Hunter Monson (Clerk)

Senator Austin Britton

Deputy Minority Party Leader Isha Khan

Rubaii moves to recess by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii calls back to order at 9:21 AM

Committee Members Present (9:21AM):

Joshua Yacuik Adriana Sela Matthew Bravo Aaron Rubaii (Chair) Alexander Wierchs

Committee Members Absent (9:21AM):

Megan McGuire Arshan Falasiri Jaxen Ranson Daniel Weinberger

Others Present (9:21AM):

Senator Hunter Monson (Clerk) Senator Austin Britton Deputy Minority Party Leader Isha Khan

Rubaii moves to amend SSB 2024-1436 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to amend SSB 2024-1436 by U/C, motion passes

Sela moves to pass SSB 2024-1436 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to amend SSB 2024-1437 by U/C, motion passes

Bravo moves to amend SSB 2024-1437 by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii moves to amend SSB 2024-1437 by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii moves to amend SSB 2024-1437 by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii moves to amend SSB 2024-1437 by U/C, motion passes

Sela moves to pass SSB 2024-1437 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to table SSB 2024-1438 by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii moves to amend SSB 2024-1439 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to amend SSB 2024-1439 by U/C, motion passes

Wierchs moves to amend SSB 2024-1439 by U/C, motion passes

Sela moves to pass SSB 2024-1439 by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii moves to recess by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii calls meeting to order at 10:25

Committee Members Present (10:25AM):

Joshua Yacuik Adriana Sela Matthew Bravo Aaron Rubaii (Chair) Alexander Wierchs

Committee Members Absent (10:25AM):

Megan McGuire Arshan Falasiri Jaxen Ranson Daniel Weinberger

Others Present (10:25AM):

Senator Hunter Monson (Clerk) Senator Austin Britton

Yacuik moves to table SSB 2024-1440 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to amend SSB 2024-1441 by U/C, motion passes

Rubaii moves to amend SSB 2024-1441 by U/C, motion passes

Sela moves to pass SSB 2024-1441 by U/C, motion passes

Bravo moves to fail SSB 2024-1442 by U/C, citing implication, Sela objects

Yacuik moves to fail SSB 2024-1442 by Roll Call, citing implication

Yacuik Yes

Wierchs Yes

Bravo Yes

Sela No

Rubaii Abstains

In a vote of 3-1-1, SSB 2024-1442 fails

Wierchs moves to table SSB 2024-1443 by U/C, motion passes

Wierchs moves to create special rule for bloc of legislation including SSB 2024-1450, SSB 2024-1458, SSB 2024-1459, SSB 2024-1465, SSB 2024-1468, SSB 2024-1469, SSB 2024-1478, SSB 2024-1482, SSB 2024-1484, SSB 2024-1485, SSB 2024-1486, SSB 2024-1487, SSB 2024-1488, SSB 2024-1490 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to pass the bloc by U/C, motion passes

Bravo moves to pass SSB 2024-1451 by U/C, motion passes

Wierchs moves to pass SSB 2024-1452 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to pass SSB 2024-1453 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to pass SSB 2024-1454 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to table SSB 2024-1455 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to table SSB 2024-1456 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to fail SSB 2024-1457 by U/C, citing implication, motion passes

Wierchs moves to amend SSB 2024-1460 by U/C, motion passes

Yacuik moves to amend SSB 2024-1460 by U/C, motion passes

Wierchs moves to pass SSB 2024-1460 by U/C, motion passes

Meeting is adjourned at 12:07PM