AGENDA STUDENT SENATE MEETING April 23, 2024 | 7:30 PM | Senate Chamber

We will be respectful of each other even when we disagree. We will direct all comment to the issues. We will avoid personal attacks.

OF FLORIDA

Chair: Aaron Rubaii

Chair: Damian Rodriguez

Chair: Samantha Kinggard

CALL TO ORDER:

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:

INVOCATION/MOMENT OF SILENCE:

ROLL CALL:

PUBLIC COMMENT:

AMENDMENTS TO THE MINUTES:

AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA:

STUDENT BODY OFFICER REPORT(S):

PRESIDENT'S REPORT:

JUDICIARY:

BUDGET & APPROPRIATIONS:

RULES & ETHICS:

Approved Absences

03/26/2024: Christian Jubran 04/16/2024: Valentina Bernal

Failed Absences

03/19/2024: Anna Huber

Special Rule: All absences under Rules and Ethics will be heard as a bloc.

INFORMATION & COMMUNICATION: Chair: Laurel Wentworth

REPLACEMENT AND AGENDA COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:

Permanent Senate Seats

Accounting- Marquis Viel

CLAS- Jack Fry

Graduate- Cassandra Urbenz

Sophomore- Katherine McNamara

Special Rule: All Permanent Senate Seat nominations will be heard as a bloc.

Agency Heads

Young Leaders Conference- Madison Helmling

Action SG- Elsa Brantmeyer

External Affairs- Mason Solomon

Accent Speakers Bureau-Garrett Schreiber

Accent Speakers Bureau Comptroller- Abie Bonkovski

Bridges- Jonya Moore

Chomp the Vote- Andrei Berekhovski

Gators Going Green- Addison Woodley

Gender and Sexuality Protection Agency (GASP)- Riley Towbin

Nightlife Navigators- Evan Fleischer

Student Government Accountability Agency- Owen Lekebusch

Student Government Institute- Bronson Allemand

Student Government Productions- Jack Levy

Student Government Productions Comptroller- Chancellor Wilson

Student Honor Code Administration- Alex Benashvili

Students Taking Action Against Racism (STAAR)- Victoria Tieze

Students Taking Action Against Racism (STAAR)- Ansh Parikh

The Big Event- Edward "Teddy" Frank

The Big Event- Emma Antonik

Gator Innovators- Isabel Ponce

Class Councils- Adrian Alonso

Executive Secretaries

Academic Affairs- Colin McDermott

Athletics and Recreation-Brandon Diaz

Campus Safety- Gokul Muralidharan

Diversity Affairs- Jayla Bailey

Finance and Fees- Jacob Albert

Health Affairs- Gia Patel

Legal Affairs- Shawn Kapersaud

Press Secretary- Mary Emma Cook

Satellite Affairs- Wes Freeman

Solicitor General- Nicholas Andrews

Special Projects- Tyler Hoppe

Student Services- Caleb Archelus

Technology Secretary- Ashley James

Special Rule: All Executive Secretary nominations will be heard as a bloc.

Cabinet

Transition Division Chair- JP Ricardo

Disability Affairs- Aidan Coffey

Diversity Division Chair- Dorine Thybull

Diversity Division Chair- Aneesh Chatrathi

Student Life Chair- Jordan Hricko

Student Life Chair- Eliana Jaffa

Leadership and Service Chair- Jade Gonzalez

Interfaith Affairs- Noor Azeem

International Affairs- Ritvik Bhattacharyva

LGBTQ+- Zeke Serrano

Multicultural- Sarik Shah

Womens- Courtney Jones

First Gen- Briana Toussaint

PACE- Lauren Scheffler

First Year Experience- Isabel Penin

Transfer- Jillian Sparkman

Innovation Academy- Sophia Benson

Out of State- Madalyn Kriesen

Finance and Affordability- Rachel Gilberg

Greek- Elizabeth Whelehan

Health- Aaron Sindhu

Housing- Mary Cofran

Orange and Blue- Monique Alfonso Veterans- Lucy Pallenbarg Community Involvement- Caitlin Neumann External Communications- Elizabeth Dysart Internal Relations- Liam Murray Leadership Development & Involvement- Mell Vigoa External Relations- Thomas Fitzpatrick Career Development- Amberina Khoja

Special Rule: All Cabinet nominations will be heard as a bloc.

Assistant Treasurers

Rati Venkatesan Donovan Francois Bradley Ginsburg Jan Gonzales

Judicial Branch

Supervisor of Elections- Alexia Sederopoulos Associate Justice- Connor McClay

Associate Justice- Connor McClay Associate Justice- Olivia Potthast Associate Justice- Stephanie Miller

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

REPLACEMENT & AGENDA:

Open Permanent Senate Seats

Graduate & Family Housing

Dentistry

Veterinary Medicine

Open Committee Seats

Budget & Appropriations (5)

Information & Communication (5)

Rules & Ethics (4)

Judiciary (6)

Summer Replacement Senate Seats

Summer C

Hume

Infinity

Off Campus

Building/Construction

Summer A

Off Campus (2)

Journalism

Summer B

Off Campus (3)

Graduate

Chair: Blake Cox

FIRST READING:

SSB 2024-1287: Fair Appointment Selection Criteria (FASC) Act

SSB 2024-1289: Legislative Authorship Clarification Act

SSB 2024-1291: Public Comment Submission Timeline Correction Act

SSB 2024-1296: We Are All Human-Beings Act (WAAHBA) — Volume Two — Rules & Procedures Amendment

SSB 2024-1302: Executive-Elect Legislation Capability Act - Rules and Procedures Revision

SSB 2024-1306: Rule VI Rules Governing Debate Amendment – Rules and Procedures Amendment

SSB 2024-1325: Resolution Demanding the University of Florida Uphold its Funding Commitment to the Gainesville Regional Transit System (RTS)

SSB 2024-1328: Resolution Addressing the Need for Mental Health Resources Specific to the

College of Nursing

SSB 2024-1329: Music Practice Space for Non-Music Majors

SSB 2024-1330: Resolution Commemorating the Life and Contributions of Bob Graham, Former United States Senator and Florida Governor

SSB 2024-1332: Resolution Commemorating Our RTS Bus Drivers

SECOND READING:

SSB 2024-1277: Public Comment Efficiency Act – Rules and Procedures Revision

SSB 2024-1310: Big Five to Four Act- Chapter 821 - 800 Codes Revisions

SSB 2024-1311: Big Five to Four Act- Chapter 810 - 800 Codes Revisions

SSB 2024-1312: Big Five to Four Act- Table of Contents - 800 Codes Revisions

SSB 2024-1313: Big Five to Four Act- Chapter 822 - 800 Codes Revisions

SSB 2024-1316: Storage Clarification Act (SCA) – 800 Codes Revisions

SSB 2024-1317: Late Fee Rejection Act (LFRA) – 800 Codes Revisions

SSB 2024-1318: Independence of Expression Act (IEA) – 800 Codes Revisions

SSB 2024-1245: Accessibility of Student Government Overhaul Act – 100 Codes Revision

VTC

SSB 2024-1251: Developing Inclusive Values, Embracing Respect, Sensitivity, Inclusivity, Tolerance, & Yielding (DIVERSITY) Act

SSB 2024-1260: The Senate Committee Notice Act — 300 Codes Revision

THIRD READING:

SSB 2024-1001: Censure Publications Act – 300 Codes Revision

SSB 2024-1028: THE STUDENT PERFORMER OPPORTUNITIES AND ACCOLADES (SPOA) ACT-200 Codes

Revision

SSB 2024-1061: Student Counsel Act (SCA) - 400 Codes Revision

BILLS PENDING SIGNATURES:

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

ROLL CALL:

ADJOURNMENT: