STUDENT SENATE MINUTES March 6, 2024 (Meeting 2)

Senate President Brinkman called the Senate meeting to order at 2:40 am and announced that the meeting may be filmed or audio recorded and may be available to the public. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. A land acknowledgment was given.

ROLL CALL:

Roll was called and quorum was established with a total of 81 senators present.

Not there for roll call:

- Azeem
- Desai
- Farahbakhsh
- Jaramillo
- Marjan Khan
- Lapak
- McGuire
- Mears
- Monnett
- Murphy
- Prieto
- Rodriguez
- Sarkar
- Stokes
- Vargas
- Werner

PUBLIC COMMENT:

• There were 3 members of the public who registered to speak, including Oscar Santiago Perez, Hunter Monson, and Majority Party Leader Seifer. Senate President Brinkman welcomed each person and advised that they have 5 minutes for public comment.

SENATE OFFICER ELECTIONS:

- Senate President Brinkman opens the floor for nominations for Senate President.
- Member-at-Large Idiculla nominated Chairman Vijayaraghavan for Senate President. Chairman Vijayaraghavan accepts.
- Minority Party Leader Naidu nominates Senator Natarajan for Senate President. Senator Natarajan accepts.
- Chairman Vijayaraghavan presents for 5 minutes.
- There were 5 minutes of Q&A.

- Senator Natarajan presents for 5 minutes.
- There were five minutes of Q&A.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

Adcock, Raylynn: Vijayaraghavan Arzt, Zachary: Vijayaraghavan

Banach, Max: Natarajan

Barrios, Bianca: Vijayaraghavan Bazen, Raegyn: Vijayaraghavan Bedine, Jonathan: Vijayaraghavan Bennett, Cole: Vijayaraghavan Bernal, Valentina: Vijayaraghavan

Bryan, LJ: Vijayaraghavan Burton, Halle: Vijayaraghavan Butka, Abigail: Natarajan

Carpenter, Nolan: Vijayaraghavan Cornell, John Warren: Vijayaraghavan

Cox, Blake: Vijayaraghavan
Dasgupta, Aritra: Natarajan
Drucker, Jason: Vijayaraghavan
Dunnam, Keegan: Vijayaraghavan
Enriquez, Marian: Vijayaraghavan
Falasiri, Arshan: Vijayaraghavan
Favors, David: Vijayaraghavan
Felix, Krystal: Vijayaraghavan
Fentress, Angelina: Vijayaraghavan

Fry, Jack: Vijayaraghavan Furman, Ella: Vijayaraghavan Gaul, Emma: Vijayaraghavan Gigliotti, Nicole: Vijayaraghavan Goldstein, Kayla: Natarajan

Golesorkhi, Noor: Vijayaraghavan Gray, Payten: Vijayaraghavan Hardin, Erika: Vijayaraghavan Harrison, Douglas: Vijayaraghavan

Hart, Ronan: Natarajan Hasan, Abbul: Natarajan

Henley, Aleah: Vijayaraghavan

Hoffer, Sarah: Natarajan Huber, Anna: Natarajan Idiculla, Maya: Vijayaraghavan Insuasti, Elizabeth: Natarajan

Isakson, Catherine: Vijayaraghavan

Islam, Fahim: Natarajan

Jacotin, Roggernesy: Vijayaraghavan Jubran, Christian: Vijayaraghavan

Khan, Isha: Natarajan

Kinggard, Samantha: Vijayaraghavan

Lamey, Meagan: Natarajan

Leavengood, Coe: Vijayaraghavan Lekebusch, Owen: Vijayaraghavan Levine, Joah: Vijayaraghavan Littleton, Wesley: Vijayaraghavan

Louth, Hanna: Natarajan

Majethia, Priya: Vijayaraghavan Mankoff, Deven: Vijayaraghavan Marcus, Reese: Vijayaraghavan McNamara, Kate: Vijayaraghavan

Naidu, Anamika: Natarajan Natarajan, Anjali: Natarajan Nayak, Kishan: Vijayaraghavan Newsom, Aidan: Vijayaraghavan

Permane, Daniel: Natarajan Peters, Victoria: Natarajan Phung, Vivian: Natarajan

Quattrocchi, Roman: Vijayaraghavan

Rafanan, Evan: Abstain

Rubaii, Aaron: Vijayaraghavan Ruffin, Conor: Vijayaraghavan Sabadash, Andrew: Vijayaraghavan Sakrani, Ammar: Vijayaraghavan Seifer, Julia: Vijayaraghavan

Sela, Adriana: Natarajan

Toledo, Maximo: Vijayaraghavan Varon, Sophia: Vijayaraghavan Viel, Marquis: Vijayaraghavan Vigna, Annabella: Vijayaraghavan

Vijayaraghavan, Monish: Vijayaraghavan

Von Holten, Jason: Vijayaraghavan

Watson Hewitt III, Thomas: Vijayaraghavan

Weinberger, Daniel: Vijayaraghavan Wentworth, Laurel: Vijayaraghavan Whitaker, Abby: Vijayaraghavan

Zárrate, Arturo: Natarajan

- In a roll call vote of 59-20, Monish Vijayaraghavan is elected Senate President.
- Member-at-Large Wentworth moves to open the floor for nominations for Senate President Pro-Tempore by unanimous consent. That motion passes.
- Minority Party Leader Naidu nominates Senator Khan for Senate President Pro-Tempore. Senator Khan accepts.
- Member-at-Large Wentworth nominates Senator Cox for Senate President Pro-Tempore. Senator Cox accepts.
- Senator Cox moves to close the floor for nominations by unanimous consent. That motion passes.
- Senator Cox presents for 5 minutes.
- There were 5 minutes of Q&A.
- Senator Khan presents for 5 minutes.
- There were 5 minutes of Q&A.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

Adcock, Raylynn: Cox Arzt, Zachary: Cox Banach, Max: Khan Barrios, Bianca: Cox Bazen, Raegyn: Cox Bedine, Jonathan: Cox Bennett, Cole: Cox Bernal, Valentina: Cox

Bryan, LJ: Cox Burton, Halle: Cox Butka, Abigail: Khan Carpenter, Nolan: Cox Cornell, John Warren: Cox

Cox, Blake: Cox

Dasgupta, Aritra: Khan Drucker, Jason: Cox Dunnam, Keegan: Cox Enriquez, Marian: Cox Falasiri, Arshan: Cox Favors, David: Cox Felix, Krystal: Cox

Fentress, Angelina: Cox

Fry, Jack: Cox

Furman, Ella: Cox

Gaul, Emma: Cox

Gigliotti, Nicole: Cox

Goldstein, Kayla: Khan

Golesorkhi, Noor: Cox

Gray, Payten: Cox

Hardin, Erika: Cox

Harrison, Douglas: Cox

Hart, Ronan: Khan

Hasan, Abbul: Khan

Henley, Aleah: Cox

Hoffer, Sarah: Cox

Huber, Anna: Khan

Idiculla, Maya: Cox

Insuasti, Elizabeth: Khan

Isakson, Catherine: Cox

Islam, Fahim: Khan

Jacotin, Roggernesy: Cox

Jubran, Christian: Cox

Khan, Isha: Abstain

Kinggard, Samantha: Cox

Lamey, Meagan: Khan

Leavengood, Coe: Cox

Lekebusch, Owen: Cox

Levine, Joah: Cox

Louth, Hanna: Khan

Majethia, Priya: Cox

Mankoff, Deven: Cox

Marcus, Reese: Cox

McNamara, Kate: Cox

Naidu, Anamika: Khan

Natarajan, Anjali: Khan

Nayak, Kishan: Cox

Newsom, Aidan: Cox

Permane, Daniel: Khan

Peters, Victoria: Khan

Phung, Vivian: Khan

Quattrocchi, Roman: Cox

Rafanan, Evan: Cox Rubaii, Aaron: Cox Ruffin, Conor: Cox Sabadash, Andrew: Cox Sakrani, Ammar: Cox Seifer, Julia: Cox Sela, Adriana: Khan

Toledo, Maximo: Cox Varon, Sophia: Cox Viel, Marquis: Cox

Vijayaraghavan, Monish: Abstain

Vigna, Annabella: Cox Von Holten, Jason: Cox

Watson Hewitt III, Thomas: Cox

Weinberger, Daniel: Cox Wentworth, Laurel: Cox Whitaker, Abby: Cox Zárrate, Arturo: Cox

• In a roll call vote of 60-17, Blake Cox is elected Senate President Pro-Tempore.

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

REPLACEMENT & AGENDA:

- Pro-Tempore Cox:
 - Here are the open senate seats:
 - Permanent Senate Seats:
 - Graduate & Family Housing
 - Open Committee Seats:
 - Information & Communications (3)
 - Budget & Appropriations (4)
 - Judiciary (1)
 - Rules & Ethics (2)
 - Open Committee Chairs:
 - Information & Communications
 - Budget
 - Judiciary
 - Rules & Ethics

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- Senate President Vijayaraghavan:
 - o Thank you so much once again.

ADJOURNMENT:

- Member-at-Large Wentworth moves to use voter records as final roll call by unanimous consent. That motion passes.
- The meeting was adjourned at 3:58 am.