STUDENT SENATE BILL 2024-1062

TITLE: Temporary Chair Election Act (TCEA)

AUTHOR(S): Senator Hunter Monson, Minority Party Leader Nathaniel Pelton

SPONSOR(S):

RULE V

FLOOR RULES AND PRIVILEGES

(AMENDED: 2011-116, 2016-117, 2019-124, 2019-1104, 2020-1064, 2021-1009)

1. The Chair of the Senate:

- a. The President of the Senate will hold the chair of the Senate; or in the Senate President's absence, first the Senate President Pro Tempore, second the Chair of the Judiciary Committee, third the Chair of the Budget and Appropriations Committee, fourth the Chair of the Rules and Ethics Committee, fifth the Chair of the Information and Communication Committee, and sixth a Senator elected from the body.
- b. The chair will call meetings of the Senate to order. If fifteen minutes have elapsed since the start time proposed in the call for the meeting, any member of the Senate may call the meeting to order and surrender the chair to whomever is first in the above line of succession. If none of these members are present, any Senator may call the meeting to order and shall serve as acting Chair of the Senate. The Senate will then elect a temporary chair from the floor in the same manner as the President of the Senate. This election shall occur immediately after the initial roll call if a quorum is established and shall be presided by the acting Chair, unless the acting Chair is nominated to serve as temporary Chair. If a quorum is not established, the acting Chair shall entertain any allowable motions or adjourn the meeting.

i. If the acting Chair is nominated as temporary Chair, then the acting Chair will designate another senator to serve as acting chair for the duration of the temporary Chair election.

Proviso: Credit for the original creation of the Temporary Chair Election Act shall be given to Senate President Emeritus Oscar Santiago Perez.