STUDENT SENATE BILL 2023-1133

TITLE: Fall 2023 Apportionment Realignment Act (FARA)

AUTHOR(S): Ad-Hoc Committee On Fall 2023 Apportionment Realignment

SPONSORS: Majority Party Leader Simone Liang, Senator Aron Ali-McClory, Senator Raj Mia

- 322.2 On-campus shall be defined as University of Florida residence halls and graduate and family housing controlled by the Department of Housing and Residence Education.
- 322.21 All on-campus residents will elect Student Senators by districts based upon where they physically reside while attending the University of Florida. On-campus districts shall be apportioned as follows:

Beaty Towers
Broward-Rawlings Area1
Graduate and Family Housing1
Graham Area1
Hume Area1
Infinity Hall1
Jennings Area1
Keys-Springs Residential Complex 1
Lakeside Residential Complex1
Murphree Area <u>1</u> <u>2</u>
Springs Residential Complex1
Tolbert Area 1
Yulee Area1

- 322.3 Off-campus shall be defined as all locations not included in residence areas listed in 322.2.
- 322.31 All off-campus residents will elect Senators in districts based upon where they physically reside while attending the University of Florida. Off-campus districts shall be apportioned as follows:

District A: ZIP Codes 32601, 32609, 32614, and all other ZIP Codes not delineated in 322.31,
<u>S.B.S. ending in 1, 2, and 3</u>
District B: ZIP Codes 32603, 32605, 32606, 32653 and all other ZIP Codes not delineated in
<u>322.31, S.B.S. ending in 4 and 5</u>
District C: ZIP Codes 32607 and all other ZIP Codes not delineated in 322.31, S.B.S. ending in G
and 7 6 8

322.311 District E excludes ZIP codes in which students cannot physically reside, including but not limited to 32604, 32610, and 32611.

322.32 Off-campus Student Senate seats shall be identified by a number designated after each Fall election by alphabetical order, where the first letter is the district and the last two digits form the seat number within each district (for example A-07). Since they do not have a district identification, At-Large Student Senate seats shall be identified by the abbreviation "ATL", with the last two digits forming the seat number (for example, ATL-01). The appointment or selection of replacement Student Senators shall not alter Student Senate seat designations. This is for the purpose of identification and management.

Proviso: A copy of this bill shall be sent to Student Government Advising and Operations Assistant Director Jackie Phillips, Student Government Advising and Operations Associate Director Jerome Scott II, Acting Chief Justice Julia Van De Bogart, Justice Dylan Brown, Justice Mark Freeman, Justice Brittney Deas, Justice Janelle Rolle, and Judiciary Chair Jonathan C. Stephens.